The Oldest lodge in big bear
Oak Knoll Lodge boasts a long and interesting past. Ideally located, Oak Knoll was the first Lodge that travelers would encounter as they drove into Big Bear Valley from Mill Creek Road, the main road into Big Bear (then known as Pine Knot) at the time. Most of the cabins still standing were constructed during the 1920s.
Oak Knoll Lodge entered into the Lawrence Family history in 1927 when Roy and Elizabeth Lawrence purchased the Lodge (which also included a small store, bakery, and gas pumps) from Ernest and Anna Augustine on April 4, 1927. When the Lawrence's first took over the Lodge it was operated as a summer only business and for good reason: there was no inside plumbing! In the center of the 3-acre lot stood a large hand-operated water pump; each cabin had a bowl and pitcher to use.
Over the next few years inside plumbing was installed in the cabins and warm showers made available in the main building. All heating and cooking was still fueled by wood.